13.—Lieutenant-Governors of Provinces and Territories, 1867-1946, Legislatures and Prime Ministers, 1934-46, and Present Ministries as at Jan. 1, 1947—continued

OUEBEC

LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS

Name	Date of Commission	Name Date of Commission	
Sir. Narcisse F. Belleau Sir Narcisse F. Belleau Rene Edouard Caron Luc Leteller de St-Just Theodore Robitaille L. F. R. Masson A. R. Angers Sir Joseph A. Chapleau Louis A. Jette Sir Louis A. Jette Sir Charles A. P. Pelletier	Jan. 31, 18681 Feb. 11, 1873 Dec. 15, 1873 Oct. 4, 1884 Oct. 24, 1887 Dec. 5, 1892 Jan. 20, 1898 Feb. 1, 19031	Sir François Langelier Sir Pierre Evariste Leblanc Right Hon. Sir Charles Fitzpatrick. L. P. Brodeur N. Perodeau Sir Lomer Gouin H. G. Carroll E. L. Patenaude Major-Gen. Sir Eugene Fiset Major-Gen. Sir Eugene Fiset	Jan. 8, 1924 Dec. 31, 1928 Apr. 2, 1929 Apr. 29, 1934 Dec. 30, 1939

¹ Second term.

LEGISLATURES, 1934-461

Date of	Legislature	Number of	Date of	Date of
Election		Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Aug. 24, 1931 Nov. 25, 1935 Aug. 17, 1936 Oct. 25, 1939 Aug. 8, 1944	18th General Assembly	1 4 5	Nov. 3, 1931 Mar. 24, 1936 Oct. 7, 1936 Feb. 20, 1940 Feb. 7, 1945	June 11, 1936 Sept. 23, 1939

¹ The Ministries from 1934-46 were: 16th Ministry, sworn in July 8, 1920, under the leadership of Hon. L. A. Taschereau; 17th Ministry, sworn in June 11, 1936, under the leadership of Hon. A. Godbout; 18th Ministry sworn in Aug. 24, 1936, under the leadership of Hon. M. Duplessis, 19th Ministry, sworn in Nov. 10, 1939, under the leadership of Hon. A. Godbout; 20th Ministry, sworn in Aug. 30, 1944, under the leadership of Hon. Maurice L. Duplessis.
² Life of Legislature not yet expired.

TWENTIETH MINISTRY

(Party standing at latest General Election, Aug. 8, 1944: 48 Union Nationals, 37 Liberals, 4 Bloc Populaire, 1 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, and 1 Independent.)

Office	Name	Date of Appointment
Prime Minister, Attorney-General and President of Executive Council. Provincial Treasurer. Minister of Lands and Forests. Minister of Health and Social Welfare. Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister of Roads. Minister of Roads. Minister of Olonization. Minister of Colonization. Minister of Fisheries. Minister of Labour. Minister of Trade and Commerce. Minister of Agriculture. Provincial Secretary. Minister of Social Welfare and of Youth. Minister without portfolio.	Hon. Jonathan Robinson Hon. Jos. D. Begin Hon. C. E. Pouliot Hon. Antonio Barrette Hon. Paul Beaulieu Hon. Laurent Barre. Hon. Omer Cote Hon. Paul Sauve Hon. Paul Sauve Hon. Antonio Elle Hon. Tancrede Labbe Hon. Marc Trudel Hon. Marc Trudel Hon. Marc Trudel Hon. Patrice Tardif	Aug. 30, 1944 Aug. 30, 1944 Aug. 30, 1944 Aug. 30, 1944 Sept. 18, 1946 Aug. 30, 1944 Aug. 30, 1944 Aug. 30, 1944 Aug. 30, 1944 Aug. 30, 1944